Saturday, October 30, 2010

Breaking Ground on University Center

The Houstonian reports SHSU broke ground for its new University Center on Friday, October 22: "The new University Center building will be a four-story, 144,164 sq. ft.-structure that will include classrooms, labs, enrollment counseling and advising and administrative services, as well as a parking lot and a five-story parking garage."

SHSU shares the current University Center in the Woodlands with the University of Houston, Texas A&M University, the Lone Star College System and the private sector. "The only difference [with the new building] will be that we will own this building," Richard Elgsaer, Ph.D., associate provost, said.

The Woodlands Villager News adds the $40 million building will be on seven acres adjacent to the LSC-University Center. The acreage was deeded to SHSU by LSCS with the agreement that LSCS can use 50 percent of the classrooms and free parking from 7 a.m. to 2 p.m. for the next 10 years. Then SHSU will allow LSCS to use 25 percent of its classrooms and parking for free for the following 10 years.

The Conroe Courier News reported October 16 that SHSU's construction site will put a close to the existing childcare facility at Lone Star College-Montgomery. That facility is closing December 17. “Unfortunately, the land best suited for [the SHSU] expansion is where the childcare center is,” said Steve Scheffler, LSC-Montgomery dean of college relations. “We’re working on a plan to continue providing child care for our students, just not at that location.”

Monday, October 4, 2010

SHSU To Formally Dedicate Starr Theatre

Today@Sam reports that the University Theatre Center’s Mainstage Theatre will officially be designated as the Erica Starr Theatre during an unveiling ceremony on October 9. The theatre is named for the late Erica Starr Czerwinski (1979-1999), a theatre major who was killed by a drunk driver.

Scheduled to begin at 6:30 p.m. with an unveiling of the outdoor signage, the dedication will include comments by Jaimie Hebert, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Dana Nicolay, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Penny Hasekoester, theatre department chair; and the Czerwinskis.